top of page

What do I like about poultry processing and further processing?


Being that my past few semesters have been focused on the red meat side of things, I decided to take a class to get a better understanding of the poultry side. I found many similarities, along with a few differences. The main difference is the fact that poultry is immensely more versatile than red meat, which is what I've come to like about poultry processing.

Since poultry has a very neutral flavor pallet, it is great at picking up whatever flavors are added to it, which allows for increased diversity in the further processed products industry. I am always coming up with new recipes while cooking at home, so I would love to apply this in an industry setting, and poultry could make that possible.

Towards the end of the semester, groups were formed and worked towards developing a new poultry product from start to finish. Since I had done a similar project in my meat processing class the semester before, I knew how much time and effort was needed to complete the task. After some trials and error, my group and I decided on a Sriracha Lime Fresh Chicken Sausage. An overview of our process and final product can be found here.


bottom of page